AG1 is a daily greens supplement, 40 to 50 calories with 2g protein and 2g fiber, not a meal. If you want to stay in the greens category, IM8 Essentials Pro, Grüns and AG1 Gummies are the other options we have priced. But if what you actually want is something that keeps you full until lunch, you are in the wrong category entirely, and Huel Black Edition, Garden of Life RAW Organic Meal or Ka'Chava will do that job at a real per-day cost. Supplements are unscored in our system; see how we handle that below.
Quick Answer: Staying in Greens
| Product | Price/serving | Calories | Protein | Fiber | Added sugar |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AG1 Next Gen (baseline) | $2.63 sub / $3.30 one-time | 40 to 50 | 2g | 2g | not disclosed |
| AG1 Gummies | $1.67 sub / $2.00 one-time | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | 5g (cane sugar) |
| IM8 Essentials Pro | $2.61 quarterly / $2.97 monthly / $3.73 one-time | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| Grüns | about $1.07 per serving | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | 8g |
None of these carry a BMRS score. Our 10-point scoring system is built to evaluate products meant to replace a meal, weighting protein, calories and fiber heavily, and running a greens supplement through that framework would produce a low number that tells you nothing useful, since it is not trying to replace a meal. See how we score every shake.
Quick Answer: If You Actually Want a Meal, Not a Supplement
| Product | Price/serving | Calories | Protein | Fiber | BMRS score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Huel Black Edition | $3.53 one-time / $2.65 sub | 400 | 40g | 11g | 7.2 |
| Garden of Life RAW Organic Meal | $2.11 one-time / $1.80 sub | 150 | 20g | 7g | 6.5 |
| Ka'Chava | $4.66 one-time / $4.00 sub | 240 | 25g | 6g | 6.5 |
What AG1's Label Actually Delivers
AG1 Next Gen costs $2.63 a serving on subscription or $3.30 one-time, for 40 to 50 calories, 2g protein and 2g fiber, built around roughly 75 ingredients, most inside proprietary blends. The vitamin forms on the disclosed portion of the label are genuinely strong: L-methylfolate, methylcobalamin (B12), P5P (B6) and vitamin K2 as MK-7. What is missing is vitamin D, which is not included in the formula at all. Full breakdown in our AG1 review.
The calorie and protein numbers matter for a simple reason: at 40 to 50 calories, AG1 cannot meaningfully replace a meal. It is a micronutrient supplement layered onto whatever you are already eating, not a substitute for breakfast or lunch. That distinction is the whole reason this page has two separate comparison tables above.
Staying in Greens: IM8, Grüns and AG1 Gummies
If your goal is simply a different greens supplement, not a meal, here is what we have priced. IM8 Essentials Pro runs $2.61 a serving on quarterly billing, $2.97 monthly, or $3.73 one-time, roughly in the same price range as AG1 depending on billing cycle. Grüns is meaningfully cheaper at about $1.07 a serving, but carries 8g of added sugar, higher than anything disclosed on AG1's panel. AG1 Gummies, a separate SKU from the powder, cost $1.67 on subscription or $2.00 one-time and contain 5g of added cane sugar. See our IM8 review, our Grüns review, and the direct comparisons: AG1 vs. IM8 and AG1 vs. Grüns.
We have not re-graded IM8's or Grüns' vitamin forms on this page, so switching within the greens category here comes down mainly to price and added sugar. The full reviews cover each label in detail.
The Other Route: You Might Want a Meal, Not a Supplement
Some people use AG1 as their morning "meal", paying $2.63 to $3.30 for a supplement to do it. That is a mismatch. At 40 to 50 calories, AG1 is not doing that job, and the real fix is a meal replacement shake, not a different greens product.
Here is what that costs in practice. Huel Black Edition runs $3.53 a serving one-time or $2.65 on subscription for 400 calories, 40g protein and 11g fiber, which is an actual meal at a price close to AG1's one-time cost. Garden of Life RAW Organic Meal is cheaper still at $2.11 one-time, for 150 calories, 20g protein and 7g fiber, a lighter meal but still real food rather than a micronutrient add-on. Ka'Chava sits at $4.66 one-time for 240 calories and 25g protein, closer to AG1's superfood-blend marketing tone if that is part of what drew you to AG1 in the first place.
Price-Per-Day Comparison: Supplement vs. Meal
| Approach | Cost per day (one serving) | What you actually get |
|---|---|---|
| AG1 Next Gen, subscription | $2.63 | 40 to 50 calories, a micronutrient supplement |
| Garden of Life RAW Organic Meal, one-time | $2.11 | 150 calories, 20g protein, a light meal |
| Huel Black Edition, one-time | $3.53 | 400 calories, 40g protein, a full meal |
| Ka'Chava, one-time | $4.66 | 240 calories, 25g protein, a superfood-style meal |
The comparison is not perfectly apples-to-apples. AG1 is not trying to be a meal, and none of these three shakes are trying to be a greens supplement with AG1's specific vitamin-form stack. But if your actual daily problem is "I skip breakfast and take a supplement instead," a shake solves the calorie and protein gap that a supplement cannot.
For a broader look at this exact decision, see Greens Powders vs. Meal Replacement Shakes. For how AG1 stacks up against the meal-replacement category directly, see AG1 vs. Huel and AG1 vs. Ka'Chava.
How to Pick Between These
- Want a different greens supplement, similar price: IM8 Essentials Pro.
- Want the cheapest greens option and can accept more added sugar: Grüns.
- Realize you actually want a meal, budget-first: Garden of Life RAW Organic Meal.
- Realize you actually want a meal, most complete option: Huel Black Edition.
- Realize you actually want a meal, superfood-blend tone: Ka'Chava.
See the full rankings for scored meal replacements, or use our comparison tool to line up any two shakes.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is a cheaper alternative to AG1?
Grüns is the cheapest greens option we have priced, at about $1.07 a serving, though it carries 8g of added sugar. IM8 Essentials Pro is close to AG1's price depending on billing cycle.
Does AG1 have vitamin D?
No. Vitamin D is not included in AG1 Next Gen's formula.
Can AG1 replace a meal?
No. At 40 to 50 calories and 2g protein, it is a micronutrient supplement, not a meal replacement. If you want something that replaces a meal, see the shake options above.
What is better than AG1?
"Better" depends on the job. For another greens supplement, IM8 Essentials Pro is the closest in price and format. For an actual meal, Huel Black Edition and Garden of Life RAW Organic Meal are unrelated categories entirely and solve a different problem.
Why doesn't AG1 have a BMRS score?
Our scoring system is built for products meant to replace a meal and weights calories, protein and fiber heavily. Applying it to a supplement not designed to do that job would produce a misleading number, so AG1, IM8 and Grüns are all left unscored.
Is AG1 Gummies a good alternative to the powder?
It is cheaper per serving ($1.67 sub vs. $2.63) but adds 5g of cane sugar and is a different product format, not a like-for-like nutrient match.
Bottom Line
If you like the greens category and just want a different brand, IM8 and Grüns are the two priced alternatives, mostly a tradeoff of price against added sugar. If your actual goal was replacing a meal, AG1 was never built to do that at 40 to 50 calories, and Huel Black Edition, Garden of Life RAW Organic Meal or Ka'Chava will do that job for a comparable or lower daily cost.
This article is for general information and is not medical advice. Talk to your doctor or a registered dietitian before changing your diet, particularly if you are pregnant, nursing, managing a health condition or taking medication.



